Community Discussion

If you delete a message or image on Facebook...

September 13, 2013
Quinton Author Level 1

Write the reason you're deleting this FAQ

If you delete a message or photo on Facebook, is it really deleted off their server? There were times when I would delete a message but still be able to access later via my feed. Why is this happening?
5

Comments 5

September 17, 2013
Kat1
I have never really experienced this. Wonder why it would do that? If it is deleted then it should be deleted and stay that way.

Enter a reason for deleting this comment

September 18, 2013
gamer
facebook doesn't delete anything from there server! They keep everything in there warehouse for record and data mining. So, you shouldn't be surprised from next time :|

Enter a reason for deleting this comment

September 19, 2013
crazygeek
Actually Facebook CDN is responsible for it . fbcdn this site stores images even after deletion but for fewer duration.

Enter a reason for deleting this comment

gamer
Does fbcdn have separate website, which we can access? :|

Enter a reason for deleting this comment

October 11, 2017
vinaya
Not just facebook, even the Google does not delete anything. When you delete something, at first it may look like it is gone, however, in reality, the deleted content is not actually deleted, it stays in the server. Internet is a very dangerous world, your activities can be easily tracked, your internet foot prints are never deleted.

Enter a reason for deleting this comment

Please login or sign up to leave a commentJoin